The Main Library will be closing 5pm on Wednesday, November 27 – ALL library locations will be closed for Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 28.
Main Library hours are Monday through Thursday 9am – 9pm
Friday 9am-6pm, Saturday 9am-5pm, Sunday 1pm-5pm
Hills Branch Tuesday and Thursday 10am to 8pm, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday 10am to 5pm
Fells Branch Tuesday through Saturday 10am to 5pm

Databases by Subject: Social Studies & History

Educate Station

Educate Station provides ready-to-use, hands-on activities for kids to do at home or at school.  Content is created by a team of experienced classroom teachers and curriculum developers to inspire joyful learning and support kids, teachers, and parents.

  • Access Notes: Library Card Needed

War and Terrorism OneFile

Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.

Military and Intelligence OneFile

Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily.

Something About The Author

Examine the lives and works of children and young adult authors and illustrators.

Psychology OneFile

Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.

Pop Culture Studies OneFile

Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Gender Studies OneFile

Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Diversity Studies OneFile

Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Wellesley Yearbooks–The Wellesleyan 1931-2018

Find former graduates of Wellesley High School and marvel at the activities and culture in which they thrived.

Wellesley Free Library Historical Maps Collection

These materials detail the changing landscape, topography, and community of Wellesley and some surrounding towns. Maps ranging from 1853 to 1999

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today’s important social issues

Middle School in Context

Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.

World History in Context

Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.

Wellesley Townsman Archives 1906 – 2005

The archives of the Wellesley Townsman Newspaper 1906-2005.

Wellesley Townsman 2005 – Present

Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of Wellesley Townsman from August 2005 to date.

  • Resource Type(s):
  • Access Notes: Library Card Needed

Value of a Dollar 1860-2014; Fifth edition

The Value of a Dollar 1860-2014 includes pricing of items along with facts about average salaries and incomes. Currency conversion charts appear at the end of each chapter.

  • Access Notes: Library Card Needed

U.S. History in Context

Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.

Global Issues in Context

Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.

Criminal Justice OneFile

Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.

Britannica School

Elementary, Middle and High School levels, plus read-aloud at all levels and translation for over 50 languages.

Britannica Library

Britannica Library is an award winning resource for Children and Adults. Easy to use, and easy to find trusted information.

Biography in Context

Includes 600,000+ biographies with photos and links to current research on the world’s most influential people.

Ancestry Library

The Ancestry Library consists of  family history databases, including vital records, census records, ship passenger lists, military records and more.

  • Access Notes: In-Library Use Only

Academic OneFile

Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.

A to Z Maps Online

4000+ world maps including political, physical, population, climate and other thematic maps.  New maps are added to the collection every month.

  • Access Notes: Library Card Needed